2019 R E C A P

__________

If I’m being honest I’ve been putting this post off all day in the name of not being cliche— but 2019 was an incredibly transformative year for me, so why not share? 

  • I started off the year feeling a way I hadn’t in so, so long. I got my new kidney and was feeling on top of the world physically and emotionally. I felt humbled and so grateful to have the chance to bring in another new year. 
  • I graduated college! My health may have unwillingly forced me to *pause* my education, but it didn’t stop me. I graduated with a degree in Visual Communications (graphic design, audio/video production, multimedia literally everything.) 
  • I started my career. God somehow saw me fit to start my career in the most graceful and forgiving environment. I can’t begin to explain how my talents and professionalism have developed in the past 6 months. God is good. 
  • I celebrated my One Year Kidney Anniversary. This one y’all. Phew. I made it over the hill with my hands raised in praise. No signs of rejection and minimal complications. One of the best days of my life. 9/31/19
  • I lost some friends, but let me tell you, I gained some of the strongest, most God-centered best friends I could have ever imagined. Something I prayed so heavily for, for such a long time. 
  • I started going back to church. Yeah, I wasn’t churched for almost 6 years. I felt bitter and betrayed by people I once loved and respected. But, God saw fit to start a life giving church called @ourpurpose.church led by someone I’ve known my whole life, grew up with in church, was my youth paster for a time, and had always supported me in the best way he could. I was not disappointed. It was what my heart had been missing. A group of familiar faces, tons of new ones, all coming together to sincerely know God more and share His truth and goodness with others. My walk with Christ is so different, my faith has grown tremendously. The stress, worry, bitterness, negativity has melted away and left me with peace and an eager heart to worship. Yes, me, worship. I used to N E V E R sing at church. I felt awkward and out of place, I honestly didn’t get it. Now I worship in my car, at home while I’m cooking, doing anything. I never thought I’d be the person to pray out loud with others. It made me so uncomfortable. You can catch me pouring God’s truth over anyone who needs it, praying with my friends before we eat, whatever it is. My heart has tremendously transformed. I’ve been a believer since I was 7 years old, but it took a lot of pain and error on my part to finally…get it. To get what Jesus said about lukewarm Christians. When I finally got it, it hurt me, and I’ll do whatever it takes to keep this fire going. That was long, but it was my absolute favorite aspect of this year. 
  • I moved in with my roomie girl Meg. We literally have the best times and I’m so thankful for her sisterhood. I don’t know what I would do with her and the pom squad. 
  • I scratched off one of my BIG 2020 goals before 2020 even started! I bought myself a new car. My Prius got me through so much. SO many trips to Nashville to see my doctors, trips to BG to see my girls, trips to work in Paducah for almost 4 years. She did me well, over 100,000 miles worth, but I’m happy to say that chapter is over. 

Now to see what 2020 has in store. I used to fear the future, because it felt out of my control. Now I can’t wait to see what God has in store. I can’t wait to keep sharing my life with you guys, making friends on here, and seeing your lives too. May you and your family flourish this new year.

xo

Leave a comment